• Streaming + Download

    Pre-order of Refractions. You get 2 tracks now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released.

    Seven compositions by Thelonious Monk as interpreted by John Bacon, Michael McNeill, and Danny Ziemann.
    Purchasable with gift card
    releases August 1, 2019

      $10 USD  or more




Six compositions of Thelonious Monk, five interpreted and refracted by trio, one by solo piano.

1. Ugly Beauty (8:50)
2. Hackensack (10:15)
3. Light Blue (5:35)
4. Reflections (7:51)
5. Let's Cool One (9:32)
6. Monk's Mood (3:48)
7. Straight, No Chaser (9:47)

Jazz Dimensions Records

All compositions by Thelonious Monk (1917-1982).

All compositions © Thelonious Music Corp. except "Monk's Mood", © Embassy Music Corp.

Performance copyright Ⓟ 2019 by John Bacon, Michael McNeill, and Danny Ziemann


releases August 1, 2019

John Bacon, drums
Michael McNeill, piano
Danny Ziemann, bass

Recorded August 23, 2017
Buffalo, NY
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Chris Jacobs
Produced by John Bacon and Michael McNeill
Executive Producer: Mike Rowe

Photos by John Bacon

Layout and design by Kelly Bucheger

More information about John Bacon at www.johnbaconjr.com
More information about Michael McNeill at www.michaelgraymcneill.com
More information about Danny Ziemann at www.dannyziemann.com

More information about Thelonious Monk can be found in Robin D. G. Kelly's biography Thelonious Monk: The Life and Times of an American Original (Free Press, 2009), the film Thelonious Monk: Straight, No Chaser (Charlotte Zwerin, director, 1988), and Monk's many recordings.


all rights reserved



John Bacon/Michael McNeill/Danny Ziemann Buffalo, New York

contact / help

Contact John Bacon/Michael McNeill/Danny Ziemann

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

If you like John Bacon/Michael McNeill/Danny Ziemann, you may also like: